Testimonials for CESJ

“Your ideas were so inspiring and your book very thoughtful.  Your concept of Capital Homesteading for Every Citizen is fantastic.  It is – in my judgment – a practical cure for most, if not all, Third World problems.

“Having said that, I started to propagate this idea and passed some of your literature to certain Directors of Darul Salam and encouraged them to contact you.”

Dr. Bakir Al-Hassani, professor, author, diplomat, founder and first President of the Iraqi Society of Social Sciences (7/14/04)

“I am honored to have had some share in building CESJ into the highly respected and influential instrument it is for Justice & Peace globally!”

Rev. Cassian Yuhaus, Pastor of St. Ann’s Basilica, Scranton, Pennsylvania and former President of the Center for Applied Research in the Apostolate (CARA) (3/25/04)

“The movement toward globalization makes it increasingly important to advance the ownership program of CESJ.”

Charles E. Rice, Professor Emeritus of Law, University of Notre Dame Law School (11/17/03)

“On behalf of the Salina Diocese Catholic Rural Life Commission, I want to thank you [Norman Kurland] for being the keynote speaker at the annual Rural Life Day at St. Joseph’s Parish in Oakley and for your many informative sessions while visiting our great state.  The information you shared during your visit to Kansas helped many people see the importance of social and economic justice and how that can be achieved in a different way in our society today.  You helped to give the people of our area a way to look at rural issues in a different light.”

As you continue your work with the Center for Economic and Social Justice we wish you much success.  You are making a significant difference in the lives of many people throughout the world.  May God continue to bless all of your activities.”

Fr. Allen Scheer, Moderator, Salina Diocese Catholic Rural Life Commission (KS) (8/23/03)

“Norm, thanks so much for your presentation at [Jewish Women’s International] tonight!  It was really a terrific evening; you had a nice sized audience and they were extremely interested in all your ideas.  As I left, I overheard that you may be invited to speak before other Jewish groups a result of this breakthrough.”

Harriet Epstein, Alexandria (Virginia) Agency on Aging (5/22/03)

“Thanks again for coming up to speak with us at [Union Theological Seminary, NY].  It was a very powerful experience for me, and I’m sure for the others.  One attendee I spoke with was particularly struck with your willingness and ability to not write people off and to speak with anybody, no matter where they stand on the political and social landscape, to further the ends of economic and social justice.

I have to tell you I was most impressed, as well, with your “fire” for justice issues, a fire that obviously has burned in your belly for many years, and by the strength of your principles and convictions.  That is rare in young people, let alone someone who has reached their ‘wisdom’ years.”

Matt Greco, graduate student, Union Theological Seminary, 5/6/03

“What I have found unique about CESJ is that there is nothing simplistic or quick fix there.  I find CESJ pulls no punches about the commitment necessary if you are going to develop a true ownership culture.  I feel CESJ extends big challenges and one should be prepared to do the necessary background work to meet the challenge.  That’s the environment we grow in.  That’s where we want to be associated.”

William Nicholson, President, Western Building Products (a 100% employee-owned company), Milwaukee, WI (8/27/02)

“This is my ‘Happy Anniversary’ of becoming a CESJ member and, indeed, it is a most ‘Happy’ event.  It means more than I can put into words as it was a true revelation to me when the ideas and philosophy began to break upon my consciousness; to fill that deep need which was lacking in our nation’s struggle in its inability to cope with economic and social problems….  This is a wonderful Organization.”

Jean Fry, CESJ member and volunteer, Alexandria, VA (7/12/02)

“CESJ has led the way in preserving and promoting the special heritage which Fr. Ferree gave to us.”

Fr. William Christensen, S.M., Founder of the Institute of Integrated Rural Development, Bangladesh, and former student of Fr. William Ferree; letter to Bro. Raymond Fitz, President of the University of Dayton, OH (11/3/01);

“I admire the endeavors of your Organization, to promote Justice and appreciation for virtuous Democratic reforms and congratulate you for your continued efforts and achievements in these fields….”

Norodom Sirivudh, Supreme Privy Counselor to His Majesty the King, The Kingdom of Cambodia, Phnom Penh (letter to Norman Kurland, 3/3/01)

“I just discovered your website and I have to tell you I love you all for it.  It’s the most incredible new source for ideas for economic and social justice I have found since finding the Libertarian Party….  If it wasn’t for the internet I’d never ever found out there are some sane people trying to improve everyone’s future like you are trying to do.  Keep up the good work.”

Ivor David Ley, Struthers, Ohio (2/24/01)

“I believe that [CESJ’s] Statement of Shared Vision is a minimum common philosophical denominator for every one to share, imbibe and work for, whoever has a dream and desire for socio-economic justice to prevail in our total environment.  I see it as a base-broadening overture that is bound to culminate in a greater collective effort towards a common goal to make our world an abode of love, justice, harmony, and above all happiness.”

Engineer Shaukat Ali, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia (1/17/01)

“This ESOP/CSOP at Alaska and Horizon Airlines couldn’t even be attempted without all the work you guys have done at CESJ.  This is the ripple effect that wiggles outward from people who really care about life and living.”

Steve Nieman, pilot, Horizon Airlines, co-founder OU® Union, WA (7/31/00)

“We have reviewed your paper on the Community Investment Corporation (CIC) and salute your mission and efforts to promote community development in the District of Columbia.  The Federal Reserve recognizes the importance of having strong local economies to bolster a strong national economy….  The CIC proposal you shared with me represents a unique approach to helping local communities.”

J. Alfred Broaddus, Jr. President, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, VA (6/30/00)

“I served on the Federal City College Founders Committee with Congressman Adam Clayton Powell, so you know I will support the [CESJ] Capital Homestead Initiative and the “New Birth” of our Nation’s Capital.  I have attended several meetings with Mr. Norman G. Kurland, Mr. Antonio Betancourt and Rev. Dr. Walter Fauntroy on this matter.  Like UDC, it will be good for Washington, D.C. and America.”

Rev. Cleveland B. Sparrow, Sr., Pastor, Sparrow World Baptist Temple Church of Jesus Christ, Silver Spring, MD (11/18/00)

“I see you are steadfastly sticking to the credo and justly so, since it is the only logical way this planet and mankind can truly evolve to reach their destiny.  I applaud the tenacity and purity of your thought and effort.  God bless you all.”

Jerry Peloquin, Princeton Center for Education Services (10/16/00)

“[I] found [the new matrix comparing Capitalism, Socialism and your Third Way] to be a very useful tool for communicating the agenda for change toward greater economic & social justice.  It is very well thought-out, in my estimation.”

Rob Scarlett, Lino Lakes, MN (6/20/00)

“Sixteen years ago, a small group of dedicated people began to meet and discuss the ideas and ideals of social and economic justice.  Nurtured by Fr. William Ferree, the Center for Economic and Social Justice (CESJ) was born and grew.  Solidly based on principles of social justice, firmly rooted and guided by papal social encyclicals, this ecumenical group of volunteers merged universal moral, pro-life, pro-family, God-centered ideals with the post-scarcity vision of lawyer economist Louis Kelso, who understood the power of technology to either liberate or dehumanize people.  We can learn much from CESJ’s Core Values, Code of Ethics, Accomplishments and support of human rights at www.cesj.org.”

Norbert Hermes, Family Treasures column, Salina, KS (3/31/00)

“It was a distinct honor to be given The Kelso-Ferree Lifetime Achievement Award by the Center for Economic and Social Justice.  Thank you for bestowing me with such a special recognition and for hosting our wonderful luncheon.  Carolyn and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves….

I’m so pleased that the employee stock ownership movement is still going strong, thanks to the stalwart leadership of organizations like the Center for Economic and Social Justice.  Your work is truly a public service, and I thank you for your continued advocacy of a cause so near to my heart.”

Senator Russell B. Long (11/8/99)

“Your organization provides a wider foundation in ethics and social responsibility than the narrow education provided by the traditional economists.”

Dr. Victor T.H. Tsuan, Chairman, World Freedom Day Celebration Committee (4/7/97)

“I want to congratulate you on your recent trip to Russia. [I]t seems clear that your meetings were entirely successful and that you made tremendous headway towards establishing fruitful working relations in that nation. The World Institute for Development and Peace is likewise committed to economic democratization and wholeheartedly favors the Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP) approach to privatization. We will be presenting this proposal to our sponsors and hope to be in a position in late spring to more actively support this project.”

Antonio Betancourt, President of the Summit Council for World Peace and The World Institute for Development and Peace (4/1/97)

“Accept from my family and myself the heartfelt Easter Greetings, and God blessing upon your efforts towards improving the economic social and spiritual life of Cameroonians. Your visit and message to Cameroon was so timely with the aspiration of our people….”

Mr. Punji Etengani Sylvester, Business and Development Corporation of Cameroon (3/25/97)

“This is to authorize you to represent us before the following organizations: The White House, the US Congress, The US Federal Reserve System, The International Monetary Fund, The World Bank, The USAID, The Agricultural Cooperative Development International, The Citizens Network for Foreign Affairs, the AFL-CIO, The US Chamber of Commerce and whatever other public sector or private sector organizations may be helpful or appropriate, for soliciting their cooperation and support for promoting macro-economic restructuring, enterprise reorganization and design, financing and implementation of a demonstration of the Employee Stock Ownership Plan (ESOP) approach to privatization.”

Letter from Mullanur Ganeyev, Ph.D., Chairman, Russian Duma Commission for Review of the Privatization Program, to CESJ President Norman G. Kurland, for purpose of seeking technical and financial assistance to facilitate ESOP privatizations (12/9/96)

“I have read the values of CESJ, and I believe this what we should work to disseminate here [in Tanzania], particularly to the leaders of tomorrow…. I have in mind the Universities and other centres of Higher Education, where both the intellectual and Social ground is more fertile to sow the seeds for tomorrow. While those of us who subscribe to the CESJ values and work in industry, government and private organisations can be projected as beacons of the practical application of the values, our young people will become the real change drivers if properly energised to unleash their fury of pent-up energy to productive undertakings.”

Lt. Col. Joseph L. Simbakalia, Managing Director of the National Development Corporation of Tanzania (11/14/96)

“It was indeed a great pleasure to meet you again at the First Annual Conference of Scholars for Social Justice. I personally found your presentation very interesting but, more than that, encouraging to know that there are leaders with such important concepts.”

Professor Raphel Waters, Niagara University, letter to CESJ President Norman Kurland (9/28/96)

“I want to thank you once again for taking the time to meet with the Russian Duma delegation that we recently hosted in Washington, D.C.  The delegation came to the U.S. to study ESOPs with a specific intent to introduce ESOP legislation in the Russian Duma. Your full-day overview of the comprehensive strategies of broadened capital ownership was a focal point of their visit and I know they were very appreciative of the time you spent with them and the information you provided.

You’re an amazing resource for these issues, Norm, and I hope to have the opportunity to put you in touch with other key decision-makers dealing with employee ownership and economic reform.”

David Binns, Associate Director, Foundation for Enterprise Development (5/6/96)

“Time has simply run out on the “WELFARE STATE” and the use of the tax system to redistribute income. Your ideas and those of Louis Kelso that foster vigorous private sector growth that gives the poor a piece of the action, are IDEAS WHOSE TIME HAS COME.”

The Honorable Rev. Walter E. Fauntroy, former U.S. Congressman and Chmn. of the House Subcommittee on Domestic Monetary Policy (8/3/95)

“I would like the Center to help structure an economic empowerment plan linked to the financing of Old Man River City [project in East St. Louis].”

Wyvetter H. Younge, Illinois State Rep. and Assistant House Democratic Leader (2/16/95)

“It is my own view that: (1) the existing legal and economic framework for ESOPs is not nearly favorable enough to achieve the Association’s vision; (2) it is impossible to change the tax laws to a degree sufficient to achieve that vision; (3) changes in the capital credit allocation system could achieve the vision; and (4) there are things the [ESOP] Association realistically can do to plant the seeds that will lead to putting these ideas into the mainstream of the naitnal debate. Let’s get started.

[I] am particularly inviting each of you as a veteran of the ESOP wars and as someone familiar with the monetary ideas of Kelso and Kurland to join [the Task Force].”

Luis Granados, Esq., Chairman of the ESOP Association Task Force on Access to Capital for ESOP Creation & Expansion, in invitation letter establishing task force (1/18/95)

“As always, your tenacious pursuit of economic justice is an inspiration.”

Corey Rosen, Executive Director, The National Center for Employee Ownership (1994)

“I was honored to be among such a group of distinguished individuals [at the October 20, 1994 CESJ seminar hosted by the Institute for Policy Studies]. If we can forge greater political unity among the group, then I am certain that working together, we can put together and implement a strategy that can truly help to change this country. Clearly, the time is right for the ideas that CESJ has so ably represented.”

Mike Alexander, Former Executive Assistant to the Secretary of Agriculture (10/21/94)

“I was very much impressed by your effort and achievement in the struggle for a more efficient and just economic system in this country and the world…. I already sent the book Curing World Poverty to my friends in the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and asked them to present it to professor Gou Guang Liu, the vice president of the Academy.”

Dr. Wang Zhi, The World Bank (9/25/94)

“I very much appreciated your presentation and your paper, jointly with Michael Greaney, on “China and the Question of Ownership: Is There a Third Way Forward?” I think this paper should be sent to several leading Chinese research institutions and probably directly to a number of top leaders.”

Letter from Dr. Jun Ma, The World Bank, to CESJ President Norman Kurland (9/22/94)

“Your work exists around the world, and is living and benefiting people daily–with economic justice and hope.”

J. Michael Keeling, President, The ESOP Association, in letter to CESJ President (5/27/94)

“What an amazing record you have for but a brief moment of existence. No other institution comes to mind for having done so much and extended so far as you have in CESJ…. I wish also to renew my congratulations on the publication of Curing World Poverty: The New Role of Property. By itself, that is an outstanding accomplishment…. I join you … and all your members in thanking God for ten years of constancy and full dedication to the core values of CESJ. The harvest is exceedingly good. The future is equally promising. Let us move to the future together.”

Fr. Cassian Yuhaus, C.P., Ministry for Religious R/C (4/22/94)

“Your free-enterprise approach to solving poverty with the founding of the Center for Economic and Social Justice is the fundamental perspective needed to bring people to economic independence. Your years of study and research in order to write Curing World Poverty: The New Role of Property is a generous contribution to the betterment of much more than our local community.”

Va. Delegate Robert G. Marshall–13th District (3/28/94)

“What an exciting time to subscribe to the CESJ values with the developments in Russia and China. . . . CESJ gives a basis to view events and form solid opinions amid all the rhetoric.”

(Signed) Proud to be a member of CESJ, William A. Egerer, President of employee-owned Pyramid Control, Midland, Michigan (1993)

“As you work towards adopting an agenda which will really empower those Americans who currently have no real stake in our society, I hope you will take the time to review the ideas presented by [CESJ]. . . . Clearly, lasting economic renewal will require policies which broaden, rather than limit, the ownership of income producing assets in our economy.”

Letter to President-Elect Bill Clinton from Congressman (and later Agriculture Secretary) Mike Espy (12/10/92)

“[Your] material is critically important to broadening the nation’s appeal to the non-rich, especially disadvantaged minorities. I’m not an economist but I think you are on to a powerful concept.”

Juan Williams, Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist (10/20/92)

“[CESJ’s proposed] Community Investment Corporations represent an interesting and innovative approach to improving the well-being of asset-poor Americans . . . . We continue to develop additional elements of the President’s urban strategy, and I know your thoughts will be very helpful in that endeavor.”

Clayton Yeutter, Counsellor to President Bush for Domestic Policy (6/15/92

“In the long run, I believe that your proposal to restructure our tax system and Federal Reserve policies to foster a more equitable distribution of capital and economic growth . . . has tremendous potential to expand ownership in our economy.”

Congressman and Majority Whip-at-Large (and later Agriculture Secretary Mike Espy (6/11/92)

“Every thing you have said and given me to read resonates so strongly with my own views and values, that I have asked myself repeatedly, why I do not belong to the CESJ? Would you be so kind as to forward an application for membership to me at your earliest convenience.”

Richard E. Duffy, Polaroid Corporation (6/10/92)

“If I were running for President this year, I would be talking much about your ideas.”

George McGovern (5/21/92)

“I am impressed with [CESJ’s] proposals [for peace in the Middle East]. . . . As in the past so now I continue to support and encourage your excellent work for justice, a work all of us must continue to emphasize and develop.”

Achille Cardinal Silvestrini, Cardinal Prefect of the Oriental Congregations, Vatican City (3/13/92)

“CESJ . . . has an extraordinarily distinguished seven-year history, working with governments, universities, and private businesses around the world to promote employee-owned businesses and to alter tax structures to favor proprietorship. It has receive accolades from both the Holy See and the White House for its work. . . . This is exactly the type of organization that must play a prominent role during the upcoming Clinton administration….”

Editor, The Wanderer (12/10/92)

“The value of CESJ is the beacon in the vast sea of a lost world. . . . I just came back from New York where the second Congress of the Party for Freedom and Democracy in China was completed with great success. The CESJ’s value in socio-economic justice has been adopted in that Party’s Constitution ‘Liberty codes,’ a detailed blue-print for New China.”

Attorney Ye Ning (11/30/92)

“[I] found your CESJ Seminar to be one of the most meaningful and thought provoking of any I have attended recently. . . . With Communism on the down-grade, some people may be tempted to believe that Capitalism has been thoroughly justified and should now move ahead with full vigor. You and I know that is wrong. Some center road between Communism and Capitalism must be found. And this is what I believe YOU are trying very valiantly to do. . . . [W]hile moving through the Third World . . ., I have often mulled over the ideas which you and your team presented last November. I have tried to spread them around among our missionaries. I have urged them to seek means for empowering the poor workers . . . to see if they could possibly obtain owned shares in the means of production.”

Fr. Harry Reusch, C.P., General Consultor, Passionists (10/6/92)

“Both the CESJ in Washington, of which I am a Counselor, and the Social Justice Review, of which I am editor, are constantly trying to bring people around to seeing that, in order to bring about stable and productive social peace, we have to find and implement new ways of assuring the correction of capitalism’s profit only stance as well as socialism’s effective privation of the laborer’s ownership rights.

Rev. John B. Miller, C.S.C. (in letter to Cardinal Edward Cassidy) Editor, Social Justice Review (4/20/92)

“I appreciated very much being with you people in the 1991 CESJ International Round Table Forum. . . . When I was there I went over your interesting article on the two pronged approach to implementing ESOP privatizations in (our case) transforming economies. . . . I’ll be looking for ways to convince the top people on this new approach.

Dr. M. Ali Gurol, Economist, Public Participation Fund, Turkey (7/3/91)

“I am grateful for the materials you sent me on the CESJ program. It is in accord with the papal encyclicals in the area as well as with ordinary common sense. I will use it in my Jurisprudence course.”

Charles E. Rice, Professor of Law, Notre Dame Law School (6/12/91)

“We share CESJ’s ideals and are attempting to introduce them into the nation’s recent Social Pact to bring together the views and aspirations of the labor, private and government sectors.”

Guillermo Gonzalez Flores, Private Secretary to the President of the Republic of Guatemala (6/4/91)

“[A] movement cannot move further without enlightening guiding principles. . . .Only those who experience the long night of spiritual captivity, can really envision the beauty of the great daybreak in thought. We . . . will never underestimate the true value of the gift that you have brought to us. . . . Let us join our hands together in our common cause for restoring the great harmony of mankind.”

Min Wong, former Executive Director, Chinese Alliance for Democracy (4/5/91)

“CESJ is an organization in the forefront of the fight for employee ownership.”

Letter to President Ronald Reagan from Congressman Dana Rohrabacher (5/8/90)

“Your discussions here raised considerable interest, and conviction on the part of many of us within the firm that the ideals and practical objecties of CESJ had a real place in our developing country.”

Derric Reid, Senior Partner Webber Wentzel Law Firm, South Africa (3/17/89)

“After reading through the mandate of the Center for Economic and Social Justice, I thought you would be interested in our Chairman of the Board’s [Max De Pree’s] perception of what a corporation should be. It appears that his philosophy has confluence with the center’s values and goals.”

Michele Hunt, then-Vice President for People, Herman Miller Inc. (2/22/89)

“Since you know well how dedicated I feel and behave in the line of your action, your invitation to join CESJ is a great honor that I gratefully accept as a founding member.”

Guy Plunier, The Tocqueville Foundation, Paris (2/28/88)